Skip to content

Submissions Ho’k?

May 29, 2009

Right then. Let’s get cracking.

Etchings is open for submissions of prose. 5000wds max, by the 15th of August.

Going Down Swinging, (One of my personal fav’s) is open until the 30th of June.

Verb-ate-him, are open till the 15th of June.

Sketch are taking submissions until the 31st of August.

Otoliths is open until the 27th of July.

Invisible City is taking submissions for Issue 04 DANGEROUS BODIES. Closing 20 June 2009.

That’s about it for now.

In other news.

With the Emerging Writers’ Festival in full swing this week, I thought I’d give myself a few props for having the guts to stand up last Sunday and read as part of their Speakers’ Corner event. They managed to squeeze me in at the last mintue and despite developing a rather large rash on my neck and feeling well out of my comfort zone things did not go too badly at all.

I will be heading to the Melbourne Town Hall this weekend to soak up some of the festivals panels, (I am especially looking forward to ‘The unspoken creative writing’ session with Tom Cho, and Chris Currie talking about his blog Furious Horses), before drinking tea (or whiskey) with my Glaswegian grandfather on the Sunday afternoon.

Also, Ruby Murray has just won the 2009 Alan Marshall Short Story competition. Congratulations kid! You continue to prove yourself a star in every way.

I can read! - Photo courtesy of Sean M Whelan.

I can read! - Photo courtesy of Sean M Whelan.

Sean is the spoken word cowboy, very cool. Check it out.

Cheers Gang.

Soph. Xx

Note to self. Eating bread and honey at the same time as blogging is a bad idea. Sticky stuff.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave Halliday permalink
    June 3, 2009 11:56 am

    G’day snufft- great idea for a blog. There is also a new upcoming lit journal called The Bones of Fitzgerald (which I co-edit) and another called One Trick Pony. Subs were due mid-May, but still. Worth keeping an eye out!

  2. snufft permalink*
    June 3, 2009 12:33 pm

    Cheers Dave, have added One Trick Pony to my links list, but couldn’t find a site for The Bones of Fitzgerald. Any clues?

    Thanks,
    Soph Xx

Leave a Reply

